Sunday, October 7, 2007

Maureen picks a fight --let's get it started.

Sunday night anxiety. I've been hating Sunday night -- faced the impending "60 Minutes" broadcast with fear and dread since I was a pup -- super small, about six. So that means hating Sundays, being depressed about the week to come for nearly 30 years. Insanity.
Anytheways, I think I'm going to make a four hour trek to Dallas for Clarence Thomas' book event. I think it'll be worth the $30 to sit among a bunch of conservatives and to hear what he (and they have) to say.
Of course, I could just watch the "60 Minutes" broadcast in which he promoted his book, but somehow I think a story will come out of it.
I used to want to be his biographer.
Now, I'm so drained and tired of writing that I have no interest. Hell, it might interfere with my career as a dog walker someday.
Speaking of Judge Thomas -- Maureen Dowd today, vicious and brilliant.
VICIOUS with a capital V. I had one word -- JeepersThere's some word of phrase to describe her approach-- as usual, my ADD arse can't think of it. Writing in the first person as if she were Clarence Thomas, delivering a flippant, mock-confession.
Dahlia Lithwick sliced and diced his autobiography, "My Grandfather's Son" in Slate.
Of course, Frank Rich had plenty to say -- his column, albeit not as good as Maureen's was higher on the New York Times "Most Emailed" list. Leave it him to be Thomas' jury and judge for the hyper-pseudo-intellectual chattering upper west and east side set. Not that I agree with Thomas, but the smugness and pretense of the privileged class sickens me.
But what struck me the most, was how Lithwick and Dowd tapped into Thomas' anger -- that so apparent to me without reading the book.
I ordered it today from Amazon. Can't wait to read it. Can't wait to hear him speak. Can't wait to continue reading about the ire that he conjures in people. Can't wait to continue the debate. We need to have these discussions, folks. And I'm glad that Maureen was ballsy enough to pick a fight.
PS -- Support your local indie bookstores people. Don't be lazy arse like me and turn to Amazon when you can't get that fat ass off the sofa.

Friday, October 5, 2007

Dad, Schmad.

I no longer believe that children should be raised in families.
What the hell for? These days, children just need to be properly raised -- with limits and boundaries -- just as my new fave show and personal hero, Cesar Milan, the "Dog Whisperer, " trains naughty-arse dogs and their spineless owners.
That said, -- why is a two-person unit necessary for child-rearing?
Think about it: It only sparks arguments if they aren't completely in sync on how to handle situations.
The village -- by way of extended family and friends can step-in where Mom is overwhelmed or just plain-ole can't handle it.
Since I've done this 180 ( is that right) becoming less ambivalent about children -- one thing's fo' sho' -- I want to raise them alone.
You guys don't know -- this is a serious about-face for me. I've been that girl sounding like an evangelical Ralph Reed-ette yapping about how I do not believe in single-parent households, particularly in the Black community.
My view was fortified over the past decade when my delusional mother adopted my baby sister and formally entered a dominatrix/submissive relationship, with my Ma as the bottom.
But I'm digressing -- that's another story.

Anyway -- point is -- I don't want some bossy man telling me what to do with the kids.
I don't want to have-it-out every day with some dude about whether or not Greer ( the absolutely most precious name ever) can wear make-up or how long she can chat on the phone with her vicious mean girl posse or what to do about her depression. Seriously.
I, the HNIC, make those decisions without argument or dissent. I'm the Mother, and I will be the boss. The village can be hangers on and can weigh-in on occasion. Trips to the playground, the roller rink, two-week vacations at someone's farm and help with math homework. But I need to have the last word?

What can two people do with children except fight over them, try to take ownership and compete for affection from them? A one parent household would be ideal -- and the standard if we weren't so busy over-scheduling: kiddie yoga, soccer tournaments, therapy sessions and SAT boot camp.

I'm going to raise those little rug rats like Cesar says to handle those dogs -- with a firm hand, or rather, calm, assertive dominance. And I don't need no man around screwing it up. Only room for one pack leader -- top dog in the crib. And that's me. Daddy's are overrated. Either way, your daughters are going to go awry at some point with the wrong guy -- it's a rite of passage. There's no preventing it. So you may as well make sure your brother, your uncles, your Dad, your guy friends, her soccer coach are actively taking a role in her life. And she'll never know know the better.

Tuesday, January 23, 2007

On the James Webb (D-Va) response:
I love the Theodore Roosevelt robber barron/class analogy. It’s appropriate for the times. After all, this is the era of stock option ooops-we-slipped up corporate scandals and poor people having an even tougher time – higher energy bills might be the culprit.

And where is Obama's response to the address? Why is Hillary getting so much free prese. I'm cable-challenged -- but he'd better be on MSNBC or CNN. BETTER!

Do these Assholes think we care how many times there was an applause

And it wasn't somber. Then again, I rarely watch the State of the Union. The bigger question is -- am I representative of a trend? Are more people feeling very civic and politically-minded in these dark days. So much that you'll miss your new iPod mix run at the gym, to actively take part in the republic? Can you define a republic? As opposed to a democracy? Hmmmm. Inquiring minds want to know, smarty pants.

I can't get enough -- It's National Negro Night

Who the hell is this? Do i live under a rock? Dikembe Mutombo and Some dude named Autry? I know Mutombo. Not the other one. Still. Chin Chin, Chickens, it's National Negro Night in Washington DC.
This is marketing at work, people. It's all about making yourself known. Blacks coming out of the woodwork to show their previously closeted conservatism and the President -- in an effort to steal votes for McCain or whoever from Barack, pays homage to his good Negroes. I'm in love. FINALLY, the GOP, and W. are embracing the Blacks. It's about time. Maybe now we'll have a chance -- in politics and policy. Because plantation Democrats just aren't cutting it.
It's gotta be a pre-emptive strike -- an effort to woo us now -- before we all vote for 666 (Barack Obama.) I'll explain next post why I call him this -- think: too good to be true.

Part 2 -- Oh Hell, God Bless a GOP Brotha

Me again, waxing on the State of the Union. But I'm wondering why he's one of tonight's poster children. Is he our new Charlie Barkley? I don't know much about these athletes. And clearly,Mama's minus her cable. So she doesn't know what's happening in the world. :-)

Chin Chin, Chickens, it's state of the union nite

The plan was to do a play by play, or soundbite by soundbite.
No dice. I can only comment when moved. And I'm only moved my stupid stuff. Here's what I've got:It’s madam speaker, ya hear?

Oh Laura, Xanaxed-out Laura. With her matching red lipstick. At least her husband loves her.

Tax credits to set up a health care account? What is he smoking? Whenyhou’re broke and have a few extrfa dollars – you’re treying to get the lady down the street to pull your tooth – not set upa health care savings account, fool.

I thought John Kerry retired. Is Pinnochio dozing? Who’s that with the big nose?

That’s why I love GW – he can charm a chick in a new york minute. He comes through the door and pays homage to our new fabulous lady speaker. He didn’t’t have to – It’s a thrilling moment.


Look at snarky Hillary. At least 666 has the courtesy to clap. She reaks of arrogance.

And Nancy is keeping it real – when GW says something she do esn’t agree with – fuck the poker face. It’s all about, “I need Tums.”

Intelligence, law enforcement, xx xx xx

That’s bullshit – where men and women make their own decisions – This isn’t a question of freedom or oppression. And it never was – why do they have to be villainized for the wrong reasons? Well, maybe it was about US oppression and eggregious imperialism in the rest of the world. Or perhaps, more simply,payback for the havic we wrought around the world. He'll never see. I think maybe he would.

Hell yeah, I voted for failure. Give it a chance to work? Where has he been for the past, um, six years? That's plenty of time. Look at that grin. We all love approval. He's furry like an affirmation loving dog. But we all know he doesn't give a crap what most of us think. Hell, fuck that, there ain't nothing like a I-don't-give-a-shit-because-I'm-rich-and-white-man. Confidence. If we all had it -- probably wouldn't be any wars.


Who's the psuedo-hottie with the semi-nubian features in the army uniform? Or is that marines? Shows you how much I know.

OMG-- are we acknowledging a problem in Darfur? Am I late?